Worship Sundays at 10:30 am

407 South Grove Avenue, Barrington, IL

Our Council

What rings through the history of the Community Church of Barrington is the willingness to be different, to take risks, and the importance of relationships, friendships, support and love.  

Within that context, the Church Council sets policies and directions for our Congregation and sees to the implementation of those policies and directions.  The voting members of the Church Council are the officers of our Congregation, i.e., the Moderator, Assistant Moderator, Church Clerk and Treasurer; the Chairs of the Christian Education, Congregational Life, Deacons, Finance, Membership Development, Mission and Outreach, Music and Worship Planning, Properties and Personnel and Stewardship Committees; the President of the Women’s Fellowship and 2 members at large. The Pastor and other professional staff are non-voting members.

Below is a complete list of our council members.


Moderator, Stu Overby

Vice Moderator, Open

Treasurer, Open

Clerk, Clarke Robinson

Christian Education (Co-Chairs), Karen Palomo & Sharon Hornig

Congregational Life (Chair), Jackie Phinney

Decons (Chair), Ted Newman

Finance (Chair), Bill Akerstrom

Membership Development (Chair), Rev. Bob Reekie

Mission & Outreach (Chair), Brenda Overby

Music and Worship (Chair), Bill Akerstrom

Properties & Personnel (Chair), Jayne Majzan

Stewardship (Chair), David Phinney

At Large Member, Glee Huddlestun

At Large Member, Cindy Alton

Pastoral Relations Committee (Chair), Margaret Akerstrom

Zina’s Sermons


January 14, 2018

  • Posted by Cindy Alton
  • On 01/15/2018

“A Different Kind of Beloved Community” sermon by Rev. Dr. Zina Jacque. You can watch the Ted Talk by Suzanne Simard that...

January 7, 2018

  • Posted by Cindy Alton
  • On 01/08/2018

“First Words”. Sermon by Rev. Dr. Zina Jacque and Dr. Samira El-Yasir